Melbourne DUI Accident Lawyers
Drunk driving / DUI victim lawyers in Titusville
Melbourne and Titusville residents are quite familiar with the very serious issue of drunk driving. Most people automatically associate drunk driving with the action of being pulled over by the police and ultimately facing criminal prosecution. Under Florida law, intoxicated drivers are subjected to criminal DUI for operating a vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs, whether or not the driver caused harm from doing so.
Our Melbourne DUI accident lawyers have found that many Florida residents seem to be unaware of the differences between criminal drunk driving charges and civil charges. Some DUI cases may result in the death or injury of another party while other cases another may only involve property damage. Intoxicated drivers who are charged in a criminal court of law may also face civil charges after a criminal prosecution. The civil suit is necessary for injured parties to recover damages from the convicted drunk/DUI driver. While the details of drunk driving cases may vary, Florida imposes standard penalties against those who are convicted of criminal DUI.
Criminal drunk driving-DUI charges are brought by the State of Florida on behalf of the people of the state. Criminal penalties for drunk driving/DUI are intended to punish the accused for engaging in a dangerous, socially unacceptable behavior. Penalties for drunk driving-DUI in Florida may include jail time, fines, and probation.
According to Florida law, if a driver is caught with a legal alcohol limit (BAC) of 0.08 percent or more, the driver may be charged with DUI. The State of Florida then initiates criminal proceedings against the defendant:
- The criminal consequences of a first DUI offense under Florida law include up to six months jail time, a fine of up to $1,000, driver’s license suspension up to 12 months, and installation of an ignition interlock device on your car at the expense of the convicted drunk driver.
- Jail time may be increased to nine months for aggravating circumstances surrounding the DUI such as a higher BAC of 0.15 percent or more or driving under the influence with one or more passengers under 18 years of age. Jail time increases to 12 months if the DUI accident caused property damage or minor injuries to another person. Jail time increases to five years if the accident caused serious injuries.
Criminal penalties punish the drunk driver. Civil consequences are necessary to compensate the drunk driver’s victims.
Florida DUI civil consequences
Under Florida law, “civil DUI” does not exist. Instead, various civil consequences follow from the same events or incidents that led to the driver’s DUI conviction. The civil case allows victims to pursue the drunk driver for damages. Civil cases against a drunk driver in Florida either occur simultaneously or after criminal DUI prosecution. Most commonly, civil consequences of a DUI conviction include:
- Civil suits brought by accident victims or their representatives. If an accident caused property damage or bodily injuries, the plaintiffs are usually compensated by the DUI driver’s insurance company. However, if the DUI-related accident caused severe damage, such as death, the potential to recover awarded damages may exceed the driver’s insurance policy maximum limits. In that case, the victim or his o her family members or a representative may bring direct suit against the driver for remaining damages.
- Insurance issues result from a DUI conviction. The DUI is a serious offense. The offender is now considered a high risk insured by the insurance underwriter. Typically, the insurer will then either raise the driver’s premium rates or drop the driver from policy coverage. Therefore, the presence of a DUI on a driver’s record will make it more difficult for the offender to buy insurance or find a new insurance company willing to underwrite the risk.
- DUI consequences may include suspension or revocation of the individual’s Florida driver’s license. Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles issues and controls driver’s licenses within the state. If the court orders revocation or suspension of the driver’s license, the offender automatically loses his or her driving privilege.
A Melbourne drunk driving accident attorney can help
If you or a loved one have been involved in a DUI accident in Brevard County, immediately contact local DUI victim attorneys renown for successful outcomes in cases involving car accidents in Melbourne and Titusville. You may be eligible for compensation for property damage, injuries medical bills, pain and suffering, lost income or wages. Let Couture Law P.A. go to work for you today.
How much does a personal injury attorney cost?
At Couture Law P.A. in Melbourne, you won’t pay a penny unless our personal injury lawyers prevail at trial, or procure a settlement on your behalf. This arrangement is commonly referred to as payment “on a contingency basis.” Suffice to say, we’ll help you fight for every dollar for your pain and suffering.
How much time do I have to file an injury lawsuit?
The period of time from the date of the accident until you no longer can file a claim is known as the “statute of limitations.” In Florida, the amount of time in which statutes expire varies by case type. The statute of limitations for most injury cases is four (4) years. For medical malpractice and wrongful death cases, it’s two (2) years. Always err on the side of caution by consulting with your Melbourne personal injury attorney.
Do I have a case?
Because no two cases are alike, Melbourne injury attorneys should gather and analyze all of the facts regarding your case before addressing this question. After tracking down and speaking with witnesses, we’ll give you a fair, honest assessment of your unique situation – and how we can help.
- Monday open 8 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
- Tuesday open 8 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
- Wednesday open 8 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
- Thursday open 8 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
- Friday open 8 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
- Saturday appointment only
- Sunday appointment only